image

Autumn! The time of crawling onto the couch with a blanket and a plate of hot steaming food while Netflix plays  your favorite series.
We wish the light summery salads farewell and welcome the potatoes, cabbages, mushrooms and gravy back into our kitchens. It is time to put all the ingredients in one pot, mash it and call it a stamppot.

Now, I don’t really see why a mash is such a popular dish in winter. Sure it is easy, but it is also a bit boring I think. I blame it on the fact that I used to eat it too often when I was younger. Let’s say three times a week at least and not much variety between the different mashes.
To my own surprise, however I decided to make a mash after my daily dinner inspiration search. Only I would make some slight adjustments.

Ingredients
1kg of sweet potatoes
150 grams of lentils
800 grams of leafy greens (kale, cabbage)
1 onion
400 grams of beef strips
50ml of red wine

Method
1. Preheat your oven at 200 degrees. Peel the sweet potatoes and cut them up in pieces of 2cm. Put the lentils in a colander.
2. Lay them out on a baking tray with a baking sheet and drizzle with olive oil, salt, freshly ground pepper and thyme. Put the tray with the potatoes in the middle of your oven and bake for 35 min.
3. Wash your leafy greens. I used andijvie. (honestly do not know what the translation is. Google translate said endive, but don’t think that that is right.) Make sure that all the sand is removed. Cut them in stripes of 2-3cm.
4. Put the stripes in the pan and add a small layer of water. The vegetables cannot be covered in water. Boil for 10min.
5. While your greens are boiling, slice the onion in rings. Fry the rings in a pan and add the beef strips when the onion starts to glaze.
6. Add the red wine and simmer for 10min.
7. Take the potatoes out of the oven and mash with a blender. Add the greens and lentils and mix while stirring.
8. Meat on top & enjoy

image

