I’m deeply sorry for the cheesy title, but I realised it kinda suits my baking style. I never bake and when I do I mess something up. (Meaning that it does not go the way I planned it would go, it is usually edible) But despite the many failures me and my oven had together I decided to spent the first day of my three week holiday baking cookies. They might not be the prettiest, but they are tasty and my house will smell like cinnamon and apples for a few hours.

IMG_20160119_180005

I could put part of the blame of my baking failures on the fact that I simply do not have the appliances. An electronic mixer, for example, is not present in the kitchen. So I simply use a whisk and afterwards tell myself that I had enough exercise to skip the gym for another week. But all jokes aside the title says bake it til you make it. So I keep trying to produce nice looking, edible baked goods that do not have failure written all over them. I have to admit that the nice looking part did not work out for me this time, but they are edible and quite good if I say so myself.

Ingredients:

110 grams of brown sugar
100 grams of all purpose flour
60 grams of unsalted butter
1 egg
1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon of salt
1 apple (diced)
Cinnamon

Method

1. Preheat your oven at 190 degrees. (I have a fan oven)
2. Measure all your ingredients and place them in seperate bowls on your kitchen counter.
3. Place the brown sugar, the egg and the butter in a bowl and mix it. If you are not a poor student like I am do it with a electrical one. Otherwise a whisk will perfectly fine.
4. When you produced a smoothy, slightly puffy mixture, the flour, vanilla extract and salt are ready to be added to the mix. You may also the cinnamon at this stage. Go nuts and use as much or as less as you like.
5. Whisk again until everything is mixed properly. In my case the dough came out quite sticky and I thought another shot at baking was ruined. However despite the looks I decided to place it in the oven anyway. Which bring me to step 6.
6. Cover a baking tray with baking paper and create your cookies. Yes create. I tried to make mine round, but that did not work out for me. Instead they are eiter oval, squarish or simply funny shaped.
Because the dough was so sticky I used two spoons to get it on the tray and then kinda tried to shape it into a cookie form.
7. Bake the cookies for about 15 minutes. After that u get crunchy sides and a nice soft middle.

 

IMG_20160119_172508.jpg

(Confession: I put the prettiest one on top. The squared and funny shaped ones I hid)

If you want to stay posted on my progress in baking and other dishes produced in my humble student kitchen. Follow my blog.

Love, Patricia

