Tired, hungry and cold. Those three things that went through my head  I was cycling home from work on Thursday fantasising about that greasy portion of chips I was going to order as soon as I was home. When I finally came home I realised I would rather have a big plate of steaming comfort food. Semi-healthy comfort food. Anyway it would be better than greasy chips and without a doubt much tastier too

IMG_20160121_211518.jpg

Mmmm Mushrooms. As long as I can remember I have loved mushrooms. If I am not careful I eat them all before I even start cooking. Whenever I am back at my parents house and they cook anything with mushrooms they buy a special packet for me. (Actually I kind of make them, but that is just between us). I used chestnut mushrooms this time, because I find their nutty flavour a bit more interesting than the regular mushrooms.

Another favourite of mine is green beans. I didn’t really like that many vegetables when I was younger, but this was one of my favourites and still is. Despite of what my sibblings thought of them I kept choosing them when my mum would ask what I wanted to pick for dinner. (In my defense they kept choosing things I didn’t like)

Pasta is simply one of my favourite comfort foods. Try it out and you’ll taste why.

Red pesto pasta
3-4 servings 

Ingredients
250 grams of penne (or other pasta, it’s your party)
250 grams of chestnut mushrooms
200 grams of green beans
500 grams of minced beef
1 yellow onion
1 clove of garlic
190 grams of red pesto.

Method
1. Peel and cut your onion into fine slices. Peel your garlic and slice thinly or use a garlic  presser.
2. Get a large pot and cook your minced beef with your sliced onion and garlic on medium heat until it is equally brown.
3. Boil water in your kettle (or let it turn to a boil on the stove, but I was incredibly hungry and a tiny bit lazy).Pour into a pan, add salt and the pasta of your choice. Boil for about 8 minutes and don’t forgot to stir in between.
4. Cut the edges of your green beans and to the boiling pan with pasta. (Saves in doing the dishes later on)
5. In the meantime add the chestnut mushrooms to your minced beef and cook for about 5 minutes. I personally like it when my mushrooms are still a bit crunchy in the middle and not cooked all the way through.
6. After those 5 minutes add in the red pesto. I added a tiny bit of water to it as well just to make sure that the pesto spread equally.

IMG_20160121_212950.jpg

And tada student meal at its best. (I am currently working on my plating and food photograhy skills) Trust me it is delicious!
I enjoyed my plate with a cold beer (brand sylvester) and a movie and it’s highly recommendable for you too.

This might be one of the last times that I bought/cooked pre-made pasta. I bought a pasta machine/roller last weekend and can’t wait to try it out. Curious how that is gonna work out? Give a like and follow my blog.

Love,
Patricia

 

