I am entering week 4 now of my personal vegetarian challenge. For those of you who haven’t read it, I am cutting down my meat consumption by eating vegetarian at least once a week. In my first week I made a vegetarian, homemade pasta. You can read the recipe of it here. So far this personal challenge has triggered my creativity when it comes to making food. I am learning new things, new recipes and start to use products that I haven’t before. One of these products are chickpeas. I have them (unprocessed) stored away in a jar in my kitchen and last week, after talking to one of my colleagues, I finally knew what I wanted to make of them; my first veggie-burger. They are healthy, tasty, colourful.. Need I say more? Click that read more button to read the recipe.

20170119_202301-3

Vegetable burgers have been quite hip since more people started to cut down their meat consumption as far as I am aware. Beetroot burgers, lentil burgers, carrot burgers, you name it and I am pretty sure someone attempted to make them once.
I absolutely love burgers. Especially when they come from Burgers on Wheels, a delivery service that does one of the best BBQ burger I have ever tasted, but that does not really match the spirit of this More Veggies challenge.

I found this a really fun dish to make, even though it took me about two hours. So keep in mind that if you, like me, use unprocessed chickpeas you will be in the kitchen for a while and that you need to do some preparation the day before. But do not let that stop you from making them because they are delicious.

Carrot burgers with a lime-dille yoghurt

Ingredients
For the burger patties (for four in total)
220 grams of chickpeas (unprocessed or from a jar)
200 grams of carrots
2 teaspoons of cumin seeds
4 teaspoons of paprika powder
1 egg
1 onion
2 cloves of garlic
1 cm of fresh ginger
2,5 – 3 teaspoons of oatmeal flour
Salt
Pepper
Buns that you like
Any kind of veggies you like (I used lamb’s lettuce and cucumber)

Lime dille yoghurt
50ml of yoghurt (any kind you like)
Juice of half a lime
4 teaspoons of dille
2 teaspoons of cinnamon

20170119_201356-2

Method

Preparation burgers (1 day in advance)
1. If you decide that you are going to use unprocessed chickpeas keep in mind that they need to soak in plenty of water 8-10 hours before you are planning on cooking with them.

Preparation burgers (the day itself)
1. Start by draining the chickpeas. Refill the pan with plenty boiling water and cook the chickpeas in +/- 50 to 60 minutes. Check inbetween if they are still covered with water otherwise you have to add more.
2. In the meantime, start by preheating your oven at 180 degrees celcius. Wash the carrots and start grating them. Try to grate them as finely as possible.
3. Dice your onion, peel the ginger and the garlic and cut into large chuncks.
4. Put 3 teaspoons of oatmeal into a food processor and let it grind the oatmeal into a fine powder. Put this oatmeal flour in a seperate bowl.
5. Put the grated carrots into the food processor together with the garlic, ginger and onion.
6. When the chickpeas have been cooked, take off their skins by pressing on the chickpea with your thumb and index finger. (this is gonna take some time though) When all the skins have been removed add them in the food processor. Turn it on and grind it into a paste.
*Side note: In order to make sure that your chickpeas have been cooked. Remove the skin from one of them, press on with the flat side of a knife and smeer out. If the texture is smooth, they are done.


7. Transfer the paste to a different bowl. Add the egg, oatmeal flour, paprika powder, pepper and salt. If you use cumin seeds like I do, grind them first with a mortar and pessel and then add to the bowl. Kneed with your hands. The oatmeal flour should make the batter dryer. If you feel like it needs more, add more. You want the batter to stick when you are done with it.
8. Form four burger patties from the batter and heat a good bit of oil in a pan. Make sure the pan is really hot before you put your patties in, otherwise they will soak up all the oil.
9. Fry your carrot burger patties in the pan until they are golden brown on the sides.
10. Finish them off by putting them in the preheated oven for about 10 minutes.

Preparation dille-yoghurt sauce
It is the easiest sauce you will ever make.
1. Put the yoghurt in a bowl.
2. Squeeze the lime and add the dille and the cinnamon.
3. Taste. If you feel that it needs something extra. Add it.

All you need to do is toast your bread buns, put on the burger, your veggies and the sauce and you will have successfully finished making your veggie-burger…

20170119_201815-2

Oeh busted. I did not use any buns, because the shop ran out of them so toasted bread it was for me. (It did not make the burgers any less delicious)

Let me know what you think and if you have any other tasty veggie burger ideas please share them in the comments. I would love to get some of your recipes.

Love Patricia

