Week 3. I really start to be more creative with my food and recipes. I was already thinking of making this dish when I first cooked red lentils. I thought they were going to be similar to black lentils, which are quite firm. But these red ones fell apart and the dish that I made then was somewhat ruined. I researched red lentils for a bit and found that most people use it for red lentil soup and red lentil curry, so this could not miss my More Veggies challenge.

20170112_195209-2

My version of this red lentil curry has been inspired by Beaufood and it is delicious. I added a few things to the recipe that I found but it is full of flavour, budget friendly and simple. The red lentils really give the dish an extra bite and it would fit perfectly in the category comfort food. The three things that are most important right when it comes to cooking a homemade meal?!

Red lentil curry 

Ingredients
150 grams of red lentils
200 grams of sweet potato
400ml of coconut milk
1cm of ginger
Juice of a lime
1 red chilli
1 yellow onion
2 garlic cloves
3 teaspoons of paprika powder
3 teaspoons of kurkuma
1 teaspoon of chilli pepper poweder
2 teaspoons of cardamom
1,5 teaspoons of tomato puree

Method
1. Start off by making the curry paste. Peel the ginger, garlic and onion. Cut in chuncks and put in the food processor. Remove the seeds from the chillipepper and add this too together with one or two tablespoons of olive oil. Turn the food processor on and let it turn into a paste.

2. Peel and cut the sweet potatoes in small cubes. Heat some oil in the pan and fry the sweet potato for a few minutes. Then add the curry paste.

3. Add the tomato puree and the lime juice and let simmer for about 5 minutes.

4. After 5 minutes, add the coconut milk and the uncooked lentils. Let this simmer with the lid on the pan for 10 minutes.

5. Add the paprika powder, kurkuma, chilli pepper powder and cardamom.

6. Taste if the lentils are cooked and add more spices if needed.

Serve the curry with rice in a bowl (I love eating foods out of a bowl, gives it that extra comfort food feeling).

Simple right?!

Let me know what you think and if you have any other vegetarian options for me, let me know in the comments.

Love Patricia

 

