Do you like spicy food? Then look no further I got the dish for you. These spicy pork strips in soy sauce are, well spicy. But don’t worry if you use the right amount of peppers you will be just fine. And if you are a bit stubborn like I am then, well, you will definately know how much to use the next you cook it.

20170215_200649-2

I am not too sure what the name of these peppers are. I got them on the market and I believe that besides the fact they came from Mexico, the vendor did not know what else to tell me about it except for the fact that they are really spicy. After some online research I came up with the name red habañeros, which looked quite similar to the ones I currently keep in my freezer. (This way I can keep them good for at least a year, without them losing their flavour, yay!)

For those who do not like spicy food, just use a little bit less of the pepper, about a quarter. I am myself learning to love spicy foods and so far that is going well. Another benefit of this dish, or two actually, is that you can have it done in less than 30 minutes and it is budget friendly. Plus this dish gives you a bit of kick and it the perfect combination of sweet, sour and spicy.

Spicy pork stripes in soy sauce

Ingredients
450 grams of pork stripes.
1/2 red habañero pepper
200 grams of carrots
3 tablespoons of soy sauce
1 teaspoon of honey
1 tesaspoon of brown sugar
Juice of half a lime
2 small yellow onions or 1 large one
3 teaspoons of sesame seeds

Method
1. Peel and dice the onion, cut the pepper into thin slices and cut the carrots into half circles.

2. If you bought pre-cut pork strips great! If you bought fillets, slice these then into strips.

3. Heat oil in a pan, fry the pork until it is almost cooked. Then take it out of the pan and let it rest on plate covered with thin foil.

4. Fry the carrots in the same, add some oil if necessary, and add the onion and the peppers after 2-3 minutes.

5. Add the soy sauce, honey, brown sugar and the lime juice. Stir and cook for an additional 3 minutes. Then add the pork.

6. Let it simmer for a few minutes and then add the sesame seeds. Stir and taste.

Serve with rice and some mint leaves on top to give the dish a little bit of freshness. This could also be good if you chop it finely and use it in the sauce. I did not try this myself yet, but will do this next time I make it.

20170209_203518-2

Enjoy and let me know what you think!

Love Patricia

