Who does’nt love chips (or fries)? Tasty, crunchy, soft potato fries with ketchup on the side. Yumm! Super delicious, but unfortunately not very healthy and most definately not part of my clean eating diet. (Not that I never eat chips, I love a side of chips when I order from my favourite burger place)

Of course you have air fryers that make them a healthier option OR you can take some of your favourite veggies, cut them into chips shaped pieces and ta-daa!: your homemade, healthy, vitamin packed and most importantly delicious chips that taste better than the ones you get at the chipper; I promise.

20170220_202640

For this recipe, you can basically use any kind of vegetables to make these chips. I bought over a kilo of parsnips at the market (I know, that is way too much) so my choice was simple. I added some carrots to the mix, since my boyfriend asolutely loves those.

Parsnip & carrot vegetable chips
Preparation time: 25 min
Servings: 2 portions

For this simple recipe you will need:

2 large parsnips
100 grams of carrots
5 sprigs of thyme
2 tablespoons of oil
Pepper & salt (optional)

This is how you make it:

1. Preheat the oven to 200 degrees celcius.

2. Peel the parsnips and the carrots (optional, I never do it)

3. Cut them into evenly thick pieces of about 1,5/2cm.

4. Put the vegetables chips in a bowl with the olive oil, take the thyme of the sprigs and add to the bowl as well. Shuffle the chips and put them on a baking tray with greaseproof paper.

5. Place the tray in the middle of the oven for 15 – 20 minutes. When they are done add some pepper and salt to taste (optional).

Now you can enjoy your vegetable chips. You can of course make a dip to go on the side, but I had them with only a bit of salt. Delicious!

The variations to vegetable chips are endless and so far I have to admit that these are definately my favourite, but I am curious to hear what your favourites are. Let me know in the comments.

Love Patricia

